Settings

Overview

BOS Enterprise contains many settings to customise its interface and inner workings. Settings are divided into three groups: General, Transactions and Users.

Settings have default values that always apply, consequently, settings only need to be added if the default values must change. A deleted setting is not removed from BOS Enterprise, instead it reverts to its default value.

The settings needed for each module are listed on the respective reference pages.

Navigation Example

Main Menu > Setup > Settings

Top Row Buttons Explained

Button Description
EditAllows the setting values in the Value column to be edited.
SaveSaves any changes.
Menu

General Tab

Info

The General tab manages settings that are generally used in BOS Enterprise or used by a specific module that is not a transaction.

  • Default Settings: Checkbox. If checked, shows all the settings that were added but retain their default values. These settings can be removed because the default values apply automatically.
  • Add/Update (button): Opens an interface from which settings can be added to change their values.
  • Delete (button): This button is only activated if the checkbox next to Default Settings is checked. It deletes all the selected default settings. Deleted settings revert to their default values and are not removed from BOS Enterprise.

Transactions Tab

Info

Use the Transactions tab to add settings to a specific transaction (Transaction Type) or module.

  • Default Settings: Checkbox. If checked, it shows all the settings that were added but still retain their default values. These settings can be removed because the default values apply automatically.
  • Add/Update (button): Opens an interface from which settings can be added to transactions. This process involves multiple steps:
    1. Click the Module / Transaction Type on the Module panel.
    2. Click the setting from the list on the right (use Ctrl + left-click to multi-select).
    3. Click Add/Update (button) to add those settings to the selected module.
    4. Confirm the change.
  • Delete (button): This button is only activated if the checkbox next to Default Settings is checked. It deletes all the default settings. Deleted settings revert to their default values and are not removed from BOS Enterprise.

Users Tab

The Users Tab is divided into three panels. The first panel lists the staff. The second panel lists the general access settings, and the third panel lists the transaction access settings.

  • Add (button): Adds the staff member that is selected from the adjacent dropdown list of staff members. The adjacent list only shows staff that are not yet on the Users list.
  • Actions (button): Applies to the Transaction Access panel only.
    • Add/Remove Modules: Allows modules to be added to assign user access, or to be removed. If a module is removed, access to that module is also removed from the selected user.
    • Batch Update: Updates all the selected records when Update (button) is clicked and confirmed. The options are:
      • View: View the transaction. View rights are required before any of the other rights can be granted.
      • New: Create transactions. This rule does not block users from creating a transaction by copying another transaction.
      • Edit: Edit the transaction.
      • Delete: Delete the transaction.
      • Est (Form only): Applies to transactions that have estimating enabled. Only see the basic form and not the calculations, or summary section which shows the profit.
      • Status (Up only): Prevents the user from reverting completed transactions to a lower status to edit them. You can only advance the transaction (e.g. Pending > Active > Complete).

Where Settings Are Explained

Each setting is explained on the page of the module it affects. These pages have a settings section:

Getting Started

My Organisation

Master Data

Accounting & Finance

Workflow

Production

Custom Modules

Admin & Communication

Report an issue with this page

For more useful feedback, select the text on the page you're reporting about, then click Feedback again — or continue without selecting anything.